Presentation of Charter

On September 18, 2014, John W. Foster Camp No. 2 was presented with its charter by Indiana Department Commander in Chief William R. Adams. The camp also received the Horace Greely Award at the 2014 National Encampment, which is bestowed to the department or camp with the best website. Images from the presentation are below.

Evansville Light Guards

After the Civil War veterans sought to be prepared for any future wars and formed independent military organizations. One of the last formed in southwestern Indiana was the Evansville Light Guards. This group was organized in June 1876 by Capt. Charles Myeroff, Lieut. August August Leigh, and Lieut. Will Warren as its officers. Many of these were also organizers of the Farragut G.A.R. post. They stayed as a unit until 1883.

Below is a picture of the Light Guards, including (in no order) Philip C. Halbrook, August Leigh, A.J. McCutchan, Charles Myerhoff, and William Warren. The only man identified is William Warren, sitting in the front row, second from right.

Evansville Light Guards